Navigation auf

Department of Astrophysics


Studying Computational Science allows students to cross the boundary between one of the main disciplines of the faculty of science (e.g., Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology and Geography) and Computer Science. This provides students with a unique set of skills that can be applied to fundamental research in natural sciences.

Studying Computational Science at the University of Zürich can be done through the combination of a major in another science subject and a minor in Computational Science.

At the Bachelor level, the major can have from 120 ECTS to 150 ECTS (or 180 ECTS without a minor), and can be combined with any of the following minor programs:

  • Simulations in Natural Sciences (30 ECTS)
  • Neuro-Informatics (30 ECTS)
  • Bio-Informatics (30 ECTS)
  • Computational Science (60 ECTS)
  • Data Analysis in Natural Sciences (30 ECTS)

At the Bachelor level, the Department of Astrophysics also offers two minor programs related to Astronomy and Astrophysics:

  • Astronomy and Astrobiology (30/60 ECTS)
  • Astrophysics (30/60 ECTS)

Possible combinations of majors and minors:




At the Master level, most minors listed above can also be chosen.

At the PhD level, the Department of Astrophysics co-supervises the Zürich graduate school in Computational Science. We also offer a PhD program in Theoretical Astrophysics and Cosmology.